Annual Writing Grant



First :

The 2013 winner is Mr. Benoît Marsan. The jury of the Scientific Committee CIRFA choise him for his excellent article entitled “Battez-vous, ne vous laissez pas affamer!” La lutte des sans-emploi et le parti communiste du Canada durant la Grande dépression à Montréal (1930-1935)”.

Mr. Marsan and the other finalists will have their article published in The Journal of the Center for Research Stanley Bréhaut Ryerson. Congratulations!


The Stanley Berhaut Ryerson grants of CAN$500 are granted to candidates writing theses at the Masters or Doctoratal level on subjects related to the fields of interest of the Aubin Foundation such as: political economy, global history of the labour movement and their revolutions, the history of Quebec and Canada, Marxism, militancy, historiography, philosophy, nationalism, internationalism, feminist studies and those of the First Nations. 


There is no citizenship requirement. The grant is open to any researcher registered in a university and is either finished or is about to complete their degree before the summer of 2013.

The candidates accepted in the selection process will be invited to present their work at a public meeting. They are invited to participate in the activities of the Stanley Berhaut Ryerson Research Centre and will have privileged access to its documentation and a work space providing they commit to writing a scientific article and give a conference at the Foundation during the year the grant is allocated. Their research paper can be published in the S.B. Ryerson Research Centre’s newsletter.


The candidates application must include:

A) a letter of intent;

B) one page describing the article which will be submitted – problem, hypothesis, plan – focussed on the work to be presented in conference;

C) academic record and a resume including the mailing address,and e-mail address.

Process of allocation

The successful applicants will be invited to make a presentation of their research plan during a public session in the office of the Foundation. Following these presentations, the Scientific Committee of the Foundation will proceed to the final allocation of scholarships for the best presentations and research.

Send your applications to: